Skip to content

Series 1 Commentary, Episode 1

May 5, 2010

This is the first in an ongoing series (no pun intended) of developer commentaries for my first released RPG Maker 3 game entitled Series 1: Destiny Beckons.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2010 11:40 pm

    This being my first attempt at a commentary track, there are a few technical glitches in a few spots. Also, the game volume is WAY too loud initially.

    Don’t worry or get turned off by this. All the technical kinks had been worked out by about episode 3 or so. Plus, I get into a rhythm fairly soon, so if this opening episode sees me struggling for things to say, rest assured that this is me, so I’ll soon be rambling non-stop. Thanks for watching!

  2. May 5, 2010 11:50 pm

    might want to work on the sound levels in the future. its hard to hear you talk over the music.

    • May 6, 2010 12:10 am

      Yeah, I think somewhere in the middle, I reference turning the audio from the game down. It’s only an issue in this first one, I think, at the very beginning. At about 12:40, the volume decreases to a reasonable level, and it stays that way from here on out.

      I will say that there’s a technical glitch very soon before that, and I do unleash a few choice expletives, but that’s pretty much the only time I am quote unquote unprofessional throughout this entire thing.

  3. May 7, 2010 12:05 am

    Obright managed to break your game, huh? Well, he’s earned my respect, then. 😛

    So do you have a choice of who joins your party at the start of the game, or is it pretty much set? ‘Cause if you had a choice, I would’ve given the player the option to accept or deny their help.

    Also, it needs to be said. YAY, EXPERIENCE POINTS! (You’d know what that means if you saw my first RPGM3 LP.) But wait, what’s this? Numbers next to the items? Are your items stacked? I know it’s been a while since I’ve used RPGM3, so maybe there’s some special feature I’m unaware of, but I don’t recall it being possible to stack items. In “A Ronin Story” at least, each party member could have up to 10 items each, no stacking period, and you had only one party member for the majority of the game.

    • May 7, 2010 12:17 am

      No, there’s no trick to “stacking” items. I think when you make one, you can specify how many uses it has. Comes in handy with the ten item per character limit.

      Also, in a future episode, I discuss exactly why I “forced” the player to accept the characters’ help. Aside from just wanting to get into the “meat” of the game, I mean, which I think I referenced here.

  4. August 31, 2010 10:00 am

    I wish I had a PC sometimes so I could make my own RPGs. Poor Mac users! 😦

    • September 1, 2010 5:11 pm

      Actually, I made this on the PS2. Still being lazy and not yet engaging in making a game or games using the PC software IG Maker.

      And yes…poor, poor Mac users. :p

Leave a Reply

